1. lonestranger's Avatar GPM Senior Member
    Downloads
    Uploads
    Posted 12-17-2010, 06:48 PM

There are many great text and video tutorials on the ins-and-outs of image editing programs such as Photoshop, but few of them on the specifics of creating textures (a.k.a. skins) for vehicles such as in GTA. I'm going to concentrate on those specifics, but for more general image editing help, you'd be better served by searching the web.

I'll concentrate on GTA IV, but most of these tips work for SA, as well as other applications such as flight or truck simulators. As time goes on, I'll add more lessons for things such as layers, text, normal maps, and so on.

While I strive to be as accurate and informative as I can, I am by no means a professional artist. I'm a hobbyist, learning his way as he goes along, just like many of you. Feel free to add your suggestions and/or corrections.

Lesson 1: Basics

If you're completely new to modding GTA, I suggest you acquaint yourself with installing mods before you create your own skin. See Soucy's "How to Import Vehicle Mods into GTA IV" and my "How-To Install Textures" tutorials here on GPM.

Editing Software:

Any Windows PC comes pre-installed with MS Paint, but I'm afraid it'll be too limited for what we need. Adobe Photoshop (PS) or Corel Paint Shop Pro are great, if you can afford them. But there are free alternatives that have nearly all of PS's functionality. paint.net http://www.getpaint.net/ is popular, but I haven't used it much. Since I'm familiar with The GIMP http://www.gimp.org/, I'll be referring to it throughout this tutorial. Regardless of which program you use, remember there is a wealth of great tutorials on the web, specific to each program.